More Info About the "Bible" of Salary Negotiations
TWENTY-ONE REVIEWS FROM AMAZON.COM
Click on the book cover to buy an e-book or hard copy. 
 
<><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><>

1. "I received $7,000 above Initial Offer and $2,000 in Perks", August 4, 2005
Reviewer: C.A. (Chicago, IL)
 
This book is an ultimate must-have for salary negotiation. I read the book twice before my job interviews so I was prepared to handle salary discussions. Techniques on postponing salary talk, letting the employer first state their offer, and using researched data to negotiate a higher salary, have immensely helped me.
 
After I received a firm job offer, I also opted for personal telecoaching with Mr. Chapman (highly recommended). The telecoaching further helped me personalize my approach to salary negotiation. After I run into unforeseen problems, I was able to call Mr. Chapman again and he guided me on making sure the job offer stood firm, and that the negotiation table was still open.
 
For my small investment in buying the book and paying the telecoaching, I received $7,000 above the initial salary offer and $2,000 in perks. I am so thrilled with the results! Thanks Mr. Chapman!

 
Ready to buy the book? Click here. 
 
 
<><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><>
 
 2. "Got the Job...Forever Grateful to this Author" January 5, 2006
Reviewer: Shamontiel L. Vaughn "the author of 'Change for a Twenty'" (Chicago) (REAL NAME)
 
I received this book as a gift, but it is well worth its money. This is an easy-to-read book on the do's and don'ts of the salary negotiations during the interviewing process. The author answers questions about telling salary rates to temp. agencies as well as corporate agencies. He explains the pitfalls of asking too early and not getting the amount deserved. He explains when to ask, what to ask, and even better...what should you research before you speak on the topic of salary.
 
The only reason the book didn't get five stars is because I'm still a little hesitant as to why he concentrated his research with the job seekers instead of the companies. Many of the things that the seekers are told to say, I'm not convinced the employer would be that thrilled about. He mentions how some may not be happy and/or lose out on the seeker's worth, but I wish there was a more concentrated fine line where both can feel comfortable during the interview(s).
 
Other than that, great book.
 
UPDATE: I just recently got a full-time, permanent Copyediting job (a job I've been trying to get forever!) and when the question about salary was asked, not only did I remember what I read from this book, but I used it word-for-word and got the job with a bigger salary than they initially wanted to give me. I'm forever grateful to this author!
 
Ready to buy the book? Click here. 
 
 
<><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><>
 
3. "Read Several Books...This Is the Best" September 12, 2005
Reviewer: EU (LA, CA United States)
 
The key to any salary negotiation is knowledge. Know how much you are worth and know the salary range for the job you are applying. Sometimes the employer has more salary available and sometimes they don't have more but you can negotiate other things such as signing bonus etc. A great read and must have for any job seeker.
 
I read several books on this subject and this is the best. Way better than "Get paid what you're worth."
 

I have interviewed with companies where I used all techniques in the book and nothing worked, the offer did not change. However, reading this book helped me have the courage to turn down the job and keep searching for the right job. 
Since job satisfaction is closely correlated with fair compensation, salary negotiation should be something every job seeker should consider. Get this book and learn from it.  I am sure you will be able to earn $1000 a year for a few minutes of work, err, silence.
 
Ready to buy the book? Click here. 
 
 
<><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><>
 
4. "Secured an Expense Account and $3000 more salary!", March 23, 2006
Reviewer: Bink
 
This book works! I used it to help negotiate a recent job offer last week. Using the techniques in this book I was able to secure an expense account (moderate size) and a pay increase of $3,000. I am sure this is entry level progress. However, for my first effort in negotiating I am quite proud of the results. This book is an easy read and straight to the point. The tactics recommended are simple to follow and will set you on a trail to free thinking as to how to maximize your monetary worth.  
 
Ready to buy the book? Click here. 
 
 
<><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><>
 
5. "Completely Revamped My Approach to Negotiation.", June 5, 2005
Reviewer: cappuccini due
 
I read Jack Chapman's book over a year ago, and it helped me to completely rethink my approach to interviewing and negotiation. I also got a very successful salary offer from my current employer as a result!
 
The book, "Negotiating Your Salary: How to Make $1000 a Minute" provides a very common sense approach to a few key aspects of getting a job that typically are not taught in classes on job seeking, preparation, and interviewing. Compensation negotiation is a totally separate step from interviewing, and the more the job seeker knows about how to keep these two topics separate, the better the final offer will be to the employee.
 
I recommend this book highly. Even if you find only one or two key points in the book that address your situation, it is definitely worth the read.
 
Ready to buy the book? Click here. 
 
 
<><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><>
 
6. "I've Made Tens of Thousands of Dollars by Applying this Book",
Reviewer: J. G, (Silicon Valley)
 
I first stumbled across this book over 12 years ago when negotiating my first job out of college, and negotiated a 20% increase over their initial offer. I've had 3 job searches since, including the one I just successfully completed, and used the skills this book taught me every single time, to great success.
 
Like all great ideas, it's simple, compelling, and it works. I've loaned my copy to more friends and colleagues than I can remember and they've all found it incredibly useful - in fact it's loaned out even as I type.
 
Comparing the cover price with the tens of thousands of dollars I've made by applying the principles in this book, it's easily the most successful investment I've ever made.
 
Ready to buy the book? Click here. 
 
 
<><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><>
 
7. "Found Salary Ranges for My Area of Work", May 4, 2006
Reviewer:Reader "cvrcak1" (Chicago, IL USA)
 
If you are looking for the new job or seeking career change, this is valuable book to start with.
 
You will learn how to assess your career goals, what resources to use to determine market value (salary ranges) in your area of work, when and how to negotiate your salary with your current, or new employer. Jack Chapman has experience as a career counselor. I highly recommend it.
 
Ready to buy the book? Click here. 
 
 
<><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><>
 
8. "Insight that Will Last a Lifetime" September 11, 2004
Reviewer: G. J Wiener (Westchester, NY USA) (TOP 500 REVIEWER) (REAL NAME)
 
Negotiating Your Salary is an excellent resource for both the job seeker and those looking to get a good raise. Author Jack Chapman emphasizes many key points most notably selling your value to the organization instead of whining and crying about a raise. The importance of letting the employer talk money first is stressed.
 
Still another aspect of a satisfying job offer/raise is to research salaries in your field. A perspective employer may think very highly of you by making the effort to do good research. In addition to presenting detailed information in an easy to read matter, Negotiating Your Salary offers many good research tools to perfect your craft at obtaining a worthwhile salary.
 
This book is a definitely a valuable tool that will never get too stale and provides insight that will last a lifetime.
 
Ready to buy the book? Click here. 
 
 
<><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><>
 
9. "I Was Able to get 22% More Money!", November 28, 2004
Reviewer: Definitive Go (Richmond, VA USA)
 
I owe my latest payday to Jack Chapman's negotiating strategies. My newest employer aimed pretty low for their first offer, lower than what I had made at my last job, considering all of the skills and experience I was bringing to the table. But by applying some of the techniques in the book, I was able to get 22% more money.
 
I've never negotiated my salary before: I was just glad someone thought enough of my skills to make me an offer. Now, I know better. 
 
Ready to buy the book? Click here. 
 
 
<><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><>
 
10. "Paid for itself 1,000 times over!" February 8, 2004
Reviewer: Kenneth Ruggiero (Charleston, SC United States) (REAL NAME)
 
This is a brief (approx. 170 pages), easy to read book from which job seekers of any profession can benefit. Helpful examples are given throughout the book of blunders and of success stories, so that readers can learn from each. I found only one significant weakness of the book, and that is that the advice given generally is more valuable for (i.e., more directly relevant to) people who are in sales or who work for companies that can put a dollar value on their worth and growth over time.
 
This can be hard to do, however, if you (for example) are a scientist who works at a research university--when you publish a new research finding, you cannot easily put a dollar value on it's worth to the university. Chapman spends little time applying his advice to a sufficiently diverse range of work settings.
 
Nevertheless, this book has many valuable pieces of advice that will almost certainly strengthen your position as a job-seeker or raise-seeker, and I would recommend it to anyone in any profession.
 
Ready to buy the book? Click here. 
 
 
<><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><>
 
11. "If you're looking for a job, then you need this book" July 23, 2002
Reviewer: Miguel Suarez "miguelsu" (Caracas, Venezuela)
 
It's amazing what a book can do for you. Sometimes we assume that we can do anything just with our knowledge, then we claim ourselves why other get more money for the same job, lucky we say, but luck is when opportunity meets knowledge. This good book will increment your knowledge.  
 
Ready to buy the book? Click here. 
 
 
<><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><>
 
12. "Buy this book!  It Kept Me Focused...Obtaining the Best Package I Could [Negotiate]" August 16, 2003
Reviewer: NYC reviewer
 
This is an excellent guidebook to prepare people for one of the most stressful yet important stages of accepting a new job. The author successfully presents the material in an easy to read format that can be useful to anyone who is or will be negotiating a salary. Given today's economy, you have to go in with a game plan and be even more creative in negotiating the best possible package.
 
The author's use of bullet points, lists, formulas, and worksheets create step-by-step scenarios and solutions, as well as, common sense recommendations that provide an effective, concise series of steps for getting offers, and negotiating the perks. Case examples demonstrate each of the steps and how to (and not to) execute them. The chapters on salary negotiations are particularly good, especially sections on responding to the offer with your researched response and clinching the dealing and then dealing some more to get maximize your handling of the perks and benefits negotiation process.
 
I recommend this book to anyone as a reference guide before making any steps toward salary negotiations. I know it helped me stay focused on obtaining the best package I could during my negotiations.  
 
Ready to buy the book? Click here. 
 
 
<><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><>
 
13. "I Was Able to Get More Money!"
November 28, 2004
Reviewer: Definitive Go (Richmond, VA USA)
 
I owe my latest payday to Jack Chapman's negotiating strategies. My newest employer aimed pretty low for their first offer, lower than what I had made at my last job, considering all of the skills and experience I was bringing to the table. But by applying some of the techniques in the book, I was able to get 22% more money.
 
I've never negotiated my salary before: I was just glad someone thought enough of my skills to make me an offer. Now, I know better.  
 
Ready to buy the book? Click here. 
 
 
<><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><>
 
14. "Not Just For Americans! I'm from UK.  Not Only Achieved Monetary Gains, but also Changed How I View My Career." June 30, 2003
Reviewer: Technical Analyst (London, UK)
 
Jack Chapman’s words can initially seem a little strong and overpowering, and at the start of the book I was a little dubious. However within reading the first few pages I identified with what he was saying and it felt like he was speaking to me on a one to one basis through his writing.
 
By using the exercises in the book, it allowed me to build up the belief and confidence in myself and then enabled me to put together 'the weaponry' to walk tall into the negotiation, and use the phrases and actions that seemed too strong before. Jack doesn’t claim to get you the best salary package in the world, just what you are worth, and more importantly, how to calculate what you are worth. Some concepts sound very American, but they are just as applicable in the UK, and probably anywhere else in world.
 
After I read this book, and followed all the advice/tasks, I was not only able to achieve monetary gains, it taught me skills to allow me take a step back and change the way I was viewing myself and my career. The overall mantra of the book, find your worth, get your worth is still very valid (and proven by myself!).
 
One thing for sure is I realize the value in looking after your career. I would highly recommended this book, the proof is in the pudding- it works!
 
Ready to buy the book? Click here. 
 
 
<><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><>
 
15. "Hands down the best book you can buy for interviewing" February 8, 2002
Reviewer: "jws9171" (Mountain View, CA United States)
 
Ever wonder if you made the best offer? Afraid friends, peers or subordinates are making more money than you? Sharpen your negotiating skills with proven tactics in this book. Hands down the best book on salary negotiation. Key point? Know your worth, stick to your guns, and be quiet!
 
Ready to buy the book? Click here. 
 
 
<><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><>
 
16. "Boosted My Salary Offering at Least $5,000 and It Took About Two Minutes!" June 19, 2003
Reviewer: "iceberg53" (New York, NY)
 
The advice in this book has assisted me in boosting my salary offering at least $5000 and it only took about two minutes of negotiations! Jack Chapman really hits the nail on the head with his advice and focuses your attention on how to price yourself fairly in the market and then NEGOTIATE FOR MORE!
 
It's true that a person works harder when they feel that they are valued more and in this world, value is most often judged by compensation. Mr. Chapman will teach you how to recognize and price ALL of your skills and then market them to the greatest effect to maximize your offer from your next employer. Keep in mind that these pieces of advice are not magic and you must always keep a cool head and use common sense when negotiating during an interview. Study the field your going to interview for and do your research!
 
Jack was also extremely helpful on the phone and communicated personally with me by e-mail several times before my interview. Buy this book and use it if you want to get paid what your worth and MORE!
 
Ready to buy the book? Click here. 
 
 
<><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><>
 
17. "Old Fashioned Horse Sense for...Salary Negotiation Game!" July 27, 2001
Reviewer: S. Montgomery-Yingling "choyerchef" (Ohio USA) (REAL NAME)
 
This was a fast and profitable read for me. The techniques are simple and forward. No magic or miracles promised, just some old-fashioned horse-sense for understanding and navigating the salary-negotiating game and how and why to develop your own negotiating strategies beforehand. The mind-opening section for me was the "budget-fudgit-judgit" stages described in Chapter Three "Salary-Making Rule 1: When to Discuss Money". This book also contains good strategies to employ at salary-review time.  
 
Ready to buy the book? Click here. 
 
 
<><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><>
 
18. "Nearly Doubled Salary and Jumped Several Rungs Up the Corporate Ladder!" July 17, 2001
Reviewer: Susan Wells (Houston, TX USA)
 
IT WORKS! After reading Jack Chapman's book, I have completely changed my negotiating strategies. As a business owner and entrepreneur, I use Chapman's techniques routinely in negotiating win-win contracts. As a Career Consultant, I have recommended this book to every client I work with. When we get to the negotiating part of the coaching session, I only teach the "Chapman" method.
 
My client's success rate at getting better hiring and exit packages stuns not only the client, but my colleagues as well. If you're still not convinced IT WORKS, here's proof: I had one client who felt he was grossly underpaid.
 
After my coaching, he nearly doubled his salary and jumped several rungs up the corporate ladder.
 
IT WORKS!
 
Ready to buy the book? Click here. 
 
 
<><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><>
 
19. "Used...to Negotiate a Great Compensation Package in the Software Industry!"
March 23, 2006 A Quick Read That's Well Worth the Time...., June 1, 2004
 
I used Jack's book to negotiate a great compensation package for myself in the software industry. Although all the negotiation was handled through the in-house recruiter, much of Jack's advice still was applicable.
 
Follow the golden rule, namely do NOT disclose your current salary! In particular I found his advice about waiting 30 seconds before responding to a prospective employer's first offer to REALLY work! A must read!
 
Ready to buy the book? Click here. 
 
 
<><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><>
 
20. "Read this Book before You Have Your First Interview!"
 
September 9, 2002 Reviewer: Denise Lidell (San Diego, CA)
 
I'm a Career Counselor and coach and I've also had years of experience as an Executive Recruiter where I frequently helped my candidates negotiate their salary. This book gives some excellent guidelines on how to postpone salary talk and get the best compensation package possible. It covers such things as how to determine your fair market value for the particular position, industry, and location of your work, in relation to your past experience. It covers how to keep your offer intact, yet still negotiate for what you are worth. It teaches the power behind a few seconds of silence!
 
I highly recommend this book to anyone who plans to change jobs, or wants to negotiate a better salary in their current position. You should read this book before you have your first interview!
 
Ready to buy the book? Click here. 
 
 
<><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><>
21. "Secured a Moderate Size Expense Account and a Pay Increase of $3,000!", March 23, 2006
Reviewer: Bink
 
This book works! I used it to help negotiate a recent job offer last week. Using the techniques in this book I was able to secure an expense account (moderate size) and a pay increase of $3,000. I am sure this is entry level progress. However, for my first effort in negotiating I am quite proud of the results. This book is an easy read and straight to the point. The tactics recommended are simple to follow and will set you on a trail to free thinking as to how to maximize your monetary worth.  
 
Ready to buy the book? Click here. 
 
<><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><>
 
 
Still Not Convinced?